First True Visit

It has been just over 6 weeks since I picked up the allotment key and we finally managed to go down and start the de-weeding and digging over of the beds. I am now debating what seeds to plant when the first two beds are completely dug over (looking to sow in June) but I’m no closer to an answer than I was on Monday when we were at the plot.

The layout is also something that I am thinking about a lot. At current there are 4 large square beds (2 rows of 2) then a long rectangular bed behind them and the shed area at the back. The beds are too large not to walk on them when tending to future cropped. I like my original plan but not sure if that will entirely remedy this problem. I think there will still be parts of the beds that would have to be walked on to tend crops. So I think in the next couple of weeks I shall take a stroll round the site and see what other people have done. I might draw up some other ideas too.

Anyway both me and my partner started clearing weeds and she decided to start dealing with the brambles at the back of the plot as well. Progress isn’t great but there are a lot of weeds. When we go down Sunday I will take some pictures so you can see the extent of the problem.

Whilst we were taking care of the brambles we noticed that the shed is in need of some TLC. Ok a lot of TLC. But then so is the rest of the plot. The corrugated iron roof has at least one hole. The door it’s not where it should be. The inside needs clearing out and the shelves that are in there are most likely no good. And lastly the front needs rebuilding. Happily I have a fair bit of pallet wood so this won’t be a problem.

All in all my main plan for this year is just to clear all of the weeds, change the layout to something much more functional, plant some winter crops to aid in the weed control a little, repair the shed, deal with the brambles next to the shed, put in a compost bin, and maybe set up the fruit area. I might possibly had a poly tunnel as well, not sure yet though.

Oh I forgot to mention that there is an oak tree in the middle of the plot too. It may only be a small oak tree but it’s of no use to me. That will be dug up very soon.

So the next post will be more plot clearing and organising. I will also post some pictures too.

Leave a comment